Dr John Curran

john curran

Dr John Curran acted as consultant to the National Trust during the renovation of Agatha Christie’s former home, Greenway House. His Edgar-nominated Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks (2009) won the 2011 Agatha, Anthony and Macavity Awards and he published Agatha Christie’s Murder in the Making, also nominated for the same awards, in September 2011. He completed his PhD, on The Golden Age of Detection, at Trinity College, Dublin where he lives. His most recent publication, Tom Adams Uncovered: The Art of Agatha Christie, was co-authored with the artist Tom Adams who painted over a hundred Christie book covers.

Melvyn Barnes


Melvyn Barnes O.B.E. retired in 2002 from the post of Director of Libraries for the City of London, after forty-three years as a public librarian.

His lifelong fascination with crime fiction resulted in his books Best Detective Fiction, Murder in Print and Dick Francis and contributions to periodicals and reference books. He selected and edited Remploy’s “Deerstalker” series of Golden Age detective fiction reprints (1977-82). His latest book Francis Durbridge: the Complete Guide is published by Williams & Whiting.

Martin Edwards


Martin Edwards’ eighteen novels include the Lake District Mysteries and the Harry Devlin series. The Coffin Trail was shortlisted for the Theakston’s Prize for Crime Novel of the Year, while All the Lonely People was nominated for the John Creasey Memorial Dagger for best first crime novel. His genre study The Golden Age of Murder has won the Edgar, Agatha, H.R.F. Keating and Macavity awards. He has edited thirty crime anthologies, has won the CWA Short Story Dagger, the CWA Margery Allingham Prize, and the Red Herring award, and is series consultant for the British Library’s series of Crime Classics.

In 2015, he was elected eighth President of the Detection Club, and he is currently also Chair of the Crime Writers’ Association.



Dolores Gordon-Smith


Dolores Gordon-Smith is the author of the Jack Haldean mystery series set in 1920s England, the latest of which is The Chessman, published by Severn House; a WW1 spy/mystery series, Frankie’s Letter and The Price of Silence, a 1920s stand-alone, Serpent’s Eye and How To Write a Classic Murder Mystery. Married with five daughters and various dogs and cats, Dolores has been a teacher, a civil servant and a shaker-out of Christmas puddings in a jam factory.


Jake Kerridge


Jake Kerridge has been the crime fiction critic of the Daily Telegraph since 2005. He is an enthusiastic promoter of the best crime fiction of the past as well as the present, both in print and at literary events. He is currently writing the entry on Ruth Rendell for the Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Tony Medawar


Tony Medawar has written extensively on the Golden Age of murder for The Armchair Detective, (Give Me That) Old-Time Detection, CADS (Crime and Detective Stories) and other magazines. As well as some short stories – including around twenty Sherlock Holmes adventures for the popular board game 221B Baker Street – he has compiled or edited numerous collections of “lost” work by various writers of crime and detective fiction. These include, most recently, A Spot of Folly (2017), which brought together all but one of Ruth Rendell’s uncollected short stories, and Bodies from the Library (2018), a volume of “lost” stories and plays including a short story by Agatha Christie not seen since 1922. Tony is currently working on collections of stories by Freeman Wills Crofts and Christianna Brand.

Dr Jennifer S Palmer

Jennifer Palmer

Dr Jennifer Palmer has read crime fiction avidly since she was a child – starting with Enid Blyton’s Secret Seven. She reviews crime fiction for Mystery People and Shots on the web, gives talks to the Dorothy L Sayers and Margery Allingham Societies and has published papers on crime fiction. She is a retired historian (at least retired from full time employment!) and lectures to adult groups on topics of historical controversy such as Did Richard III murder the Princes? Or Who was Jack the Ripper?

Len Tyler


L.C. Tyler was born in Essex and was educated there and at Oxford University and City University Business School. His comic crime series featuring author-and-agent duo Ethelred Tressider and Elsie Thirkettle has been twice nominated for Edgar Allan Poe awards in the US and won the Goldsboro Last Laugh Award (best comic crime novel of the year) with Herring in the Library and Crooked Herring. His new historical crime series (the latest of which is The Plague Road) features seventeenth century lawyer, John Grey. He has lived and worked all over the world but more recently has been based in London and West Sussex.