Speakers 2016 Conference

David Brawn


David Brawn has been Publisher of Estates at HarperCollins for the last 20 years. He and his team publish the works of Agatha Christie, as well as a number of Golden Age authors, including Ngaio Marsh, Francis Durbridge, Edmund Crispin, and The Detection Club’s books. Recent achievements include releasing the entire Christie canon in a popular facsimile edition, publishing her 1920s travelogue, The Grand Tour, two volumes on her ‘Secret Notebooks’ by John Curran, and the first Poirot continuity novel, The Monogram Murders by Sophie Hannah as well as Tom Adams Uncovered: The Art of Agatha Christie and Beyond.

Simon Brett


Simon Brett is the author of over ninety books, most of them crime novels including the Charles Paris, Mrs Pargeter, Fethering and Blotto & Twinks series. For radio and television he wrote After Henry and No Commitments. He is President of the Detection Club and in 2014 was awarded the CWA Diamond Dagger for Excellence.

Dr John Curran

john curran

Dr John Curran acted as consultant to the National Trust during the renovation of Agatha Christie’s former home, Greenway House. His Edgar-nominated Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks (2009) won the 2011 Agatha, Anthony and Macavity Awards and he published Agatha Christie’s Murder in the Making, also nominated for the same awards, in September 2011. He completed his PhD, on The Golden Age of Detection, at Trinity College, Dublin where he lives. His most recent publication, Tom Adams Uncovered: The Art of Agatha Christie, was co-authored with the artist Tom Adams who painted over a hundred Christie book covers.

Rob Davies


Rob Davies is managing editor in the publishing team at the British Library. He began his career specialising in non-fiction – mostly editing art and design books for a range of publishers – but is now series editor for British Library Crime Classics.


Stella Duffy


Stella Duffy has written 14 novels spanning crime, historical and literary genres, she has twice won the CWA Short Story Dagger and twice won Stonewall Writer of the Year. She is also a theatre director, an associate artist with Improbable Theatre and with Shaky Isles Theatre, and the co-director of Fun Palaces, the campaign for culture for all.

Martin Edwards


Martin Edwards’ Lake District Mysteries include The Coffin Trail (short-listed for the Theakston’s prize for best British crime novel), and The Frozen Shroud. The latest of his eight Harry Devlin novels is Waterloo Sunset, while Dancing for the Hangman, offers a fresh take on the Crippen case. He has edited 22 anthologies, and published eight non-fiction books, most recently The Golden Age of Murder in 2015. He has won the CWA Short Story Dagger and the CWA Margery Allingham Prize for short fiction..


Dolores Gordon-Smith


Dolores Gordon-Smith is the author of the Jack Haldean series set in 1920’s England, the latest of which is After The Exhibition, a Great War spy thriller, Frankie’s Letter, and a column in Writing Magazine. She has been a teacher, a civil servant and a shaker-out of Christmas puddings in a jam factory.

A huge fan of Agatha Christie and the “Golden Age” of detection, Dolores is married with five daughters, various dogs and cats, and lives in Greater Manchester.


Jennifer Morag Henderson

Jennifer Morag Henderson

Jennifer Morag Henderson is an author, playwright and editor from Inverness in the Scottish Highlands. Her biography Josephine Tey: A Life (Sandstone Press) was included in the Observer’s list of the best biographies of 2015 and the Independent’s best crime books of 2015.

Jake Kerridge


Jake Kerridge has been the crime fiction critic of the Daily Telegraph since 2005. He is an enthusiastic promoter of the best crime fiction of the past as well as the present, both in print and at literary events. He is currently writing the entry on Ruth Rendell for the Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Janet Laurence


Janet Laurence’s A Fatal Freedom, published in May 2015 by the Mystery Press, is the second in her Ursula Grandison Edwardian mystery series and she is now working on the third. She is also the author of the Darina Lisle culinary and Canaletto historical crime series, and of Writing Crime Fiction – Making Crime Pay, published by Aber. She regularly runs crime writing workshops and is Chairman of the CWA International Dagger judging panel.

Tony Medawar


Tony Medawar is best known for his discoveries of long-forgotten stories and plays by the giants of the Golden Age, on which he has written extensively for the British genre magazine, CADS (Crime and Detective Stories). Tony has edited six collections of such material, including 13 to the Gallows, a collection of mystery plays by John Dickson Carr. He is currently working on an expanded volume of short stories by Anthony Berkeley and a new collection of previously unpublished crime fiction by Christianna Brand. His ambition is to die in a locked and windowless room, surrounded by unbroken snow and without any weapons in sight. If nothing else, it should make for an interesting case for the insurance investigator.

Susan Moody

susanmoody (1)

Susan Moody has published 35 crime and suspense novels, including the Penny Wanawake series and the Cassandra Swann bridge series. She has also written many stand-alone novels, among them Losing Nicola and, most recently, Quick and The Dead. The Colour of Hope was an international best-seller and translated into many languages. Her novelization of the Gold Blend coffee ads, Love Over Gold, reached the Sunday Times best-seller lists. Sadly, it was written under a pseudonym! She is a past Chairman of the Crime Writers’ Association, a member of the Detection Club, a past Writer-in-Residence at the Universities of Tasmania and Copenhagen, and a past President of the International Association of Crime Writers.

Barry Pike

Barry Pike

Barry Pike is Chairman of The Margery Allingham Society and editor of its journal, The Bottle Street Gazette. He is author of the Edgar-nominated Campion’s Career: A Study of the Novels of Margery Allingham (1987) and co-author of Detective Fiction: The Collector’s Guide (1988; rev. ed. 1994) and Artists in Crime: An Illustrated Survey of Crime Fiction First Edition Dustwrappers, 1920-1970 (1995). He has published many pieces about classic mystery fiction.

Len Tyler


Len Tyler’s comic crime series featuring author-and-agent duo Ethelred Tressider and Elsie Thirkettle has been twice nominated for Edgar Allan Poe awards in the US and won the Goldsboro Last Laugh Award with Herring in the Library. His new historical crime series features seventeenth century lawyer, John Grey. He has lived all over the world, including Hong Kong, Malaysia, Sudan and Denmark but has more recently been based in London and Sussex. He is Vice Chair of the Crime Writers Association.