Speakers 2023

Simon Brett

Simon Brett is the author of over ninety books, most of them crime novels including the Charles Paris, Mrs Pargeter, Fethering and Blotto & Twinks series. For radio and television he wrote After Henry and No Commitments. He is a Past President of the Detection Club and in 2014 was awarded the CWA Diamond Dagger for Excellence.

John Curran

Dr John Curran acted as consultant to the National Trust during the renovation of Agatha Christie’s former home, Greenway House. His Edgar-nominated Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks (2009) won the 2011 Agatha, Anthony and Macavity Awards and he published Agatha Christie’s Murder in the Making, also nominated for the same awards, in September 2011. He completed his PhD, on The Golden Age of Detection, at Trinity College, Dublin where he lives. His most recent publication, Tom Adams Uncovered: The Art of Agatha Christie, was co-authored with the artist Tom Adams who painted over a hundred Christie book covers

Martin Edwards

Martin Edwards has published four novels (most recently Sepulchre Street) set in the 1930s and featuring Rachel Savernake, as well as series based in the Lake District and Liverpool. He has won two Edgar awards and other honours include lifetime achievement awards for fiction (the CWA Diamond Dagger and the Dagger in the Library), scholarship (the Popular Culture Association’s George N. Dove award), non-fiction (the Poirot award) and short fiction (the Golden Derringer). He is President of the Detection Club and consultant to the bestselling British Library Crime Classics.


Dolores Gordon-Smith

Dolores Gordon-Smith is the author of the Jack Haldean mystery series set in 1920s England, the latest of which is The Chapel in the Woods; a WW1 spy/mystery series, Frankie’s Letter and The Price of Silence, a 1920s stand-alone, Serpent’s Eye, a radio play, The Murder of Charles Bravo and How To Write A Classic Murder Mystery.   Married with five daughters and various dogs and cats, Dolores has been a teacher, a civil servant and a shaker-out of Christmas puddings in a jam factory.


Robert Hyde

Robert Hyde worked in various book publishing international sales positions during the 1970 and 80’s both in UK and USA. He worked for Little, Brown USA for 15 years and founded Little, Brown (UK) in 1989. Robert set up Galileo Publishers and Sophisticated Games (the latter a board game publisher) in the late 1990’s. Galileo started a list of GAD titles in 2021.

Kate Jackson

Kate Jackson has been hooked on crime, (well the reading of), since university and shares her thoughts on the topic at her blog, www.crossexaminingcrime.com, as well as in CADs magazine. She is a CWA member and compiler of the puzzles in The Pocket Detective and The Pocket Detective 2. She also contributed to the publication: The 100 Greatest Literary Detectives (2018), ed. by Eric Sandberg, writing on Juanita Sheridan’s Lily Wu. Her latest publication with the British Library is How to Survive a Classic Crime Novel (2023), which comes out on 8th June.

Jake Kerridge

Jake Kerridge has been the crime fiction critic of the Daily Telegraph since 2005. He is an enthusiastic promoter of the best crime fiction of the past as well as the present, both in print and at literary events.

Tom Mead

Tom Mead is a UK author specialising in locked-room mysteries. He is a member of the Crime Writers’ Association and the International Thriller Writers’ Organization. His debut novel Death and the Conjuror was published in 2022. The sequel, The Murder Wheel, is coming later this year.

Tony Medawar

Tony Medawar has written extensively on the Golden Age of murder for CADS (Crime and Detective Stories), The Armchair Detective, (Give Me That) Old-Time Detection and other magazines. As well as some short stories – including more than 20 Sherlock Holmes adventures for the popular board game 221B Baker Street – he has compiled or edited numerous collections of “lost” work by various writers of crime and detective fiction. These include collections of previously uncollected and unpublished short stories by Agatha Christie, John Dickson Carr, Reginald Hill, Ruth Rendell. He edits the successful Bodies from the Library series of “lost” stories and plays which has now reached volume 5 with volume 6 coming imminently. As well as a second volume in the parallel Ghosts from the Library series, he is currently working on new collections of stories by Anthony Berkeley, Christianna Brand and Ethel Lina White.

Jim Noy

Jim Noy has a particular enthusiasm for the golden age detection of the 1920 to the 1950s, especially locked room mysteries and impossible crimes, and in 2017 he wrote the introductions for the reprints of impossible crime novels Murder on the Way! (1935) and I’ll Grind Their Bones (1936) by Theodore Roscoe. His first novel The Red Death Murders was published in 2022. He blogs at The Invisible Event.

Richard Reynolds

Richard Reynolds recently retired as the crime fiction specialist at Heffers, Cambridge, after nearly forty-one years. He is the Chair of the CWA Gold Dagger panel. He remains involved supporting publishers, crime writers and their work. He is Series Consultant for Galileo Publishers GA list. He has collaborated with Jon Gifford at the Oleander Press, setting up a website (Cambridge Crime: Specialists in Murder) supplying recommendations, a blog (theoldmaninthecorner) and an imprint (Oreon), reissuing Golden Age Detective fiction (https://www.oleanderpress.com/golden-age-crime.html).

Len Tyler

L.C. Tyler’s comic crime series featuring author-and-agent duo Ethelred Tressider and Elsie Thirkettle has been twice nominated for Edgar Allan Poe awards in the US and won the Goldsboro Last Laugh Award with Herring in the Library. His new historical crime series features seventeenth century lawyer, John Grey. He has lived all over the world, including Hong Kong, Malaysia, Sudan and Denmark but has more recently been based in London and Sussex. He is a former Chair of the Crime Writers Association.