Speakers 2015 Conference

We are still agreeing the list of speakers for the 2016 conference.  Some of the audience’s favourite speakers from the 2015 conference will be returning along with other experts.  To give you some idea of the people who are likely to appear, here is the list of speakers from the 2015 conference.

David Brawn


David Brawn has been Publisher of Estates at HarperCollins for the last 20 years. He and his team publish the works of Agatha Christie, as well as a number of Golden Age authors, including Ngaio Marsh, Francis Durbridge, Edmund Crispin, and The Detection Club’s books. Recent achievements include releasing the entire Christie canon in a popular facsimile edition, publishing her 1920s travelogue, The Grand Tour, two volumes on her ‘Secret Notebooks’ by John Curran, and the first Poirot continuity novel, The Monogram Murders by Sophie Hannah.

Simon Brett


Simon Brett is the author of over ninety books, most of them crime novels including the Charles Paris, Mrs Pargeter, Fethering and Blotto & Twinks series. For radio and television he wrote After Henry and No Commitments. He is President of the Detection Club and in 2014 was awarded the CWA Diamond Dagger for Excellence.

Dr John Curran

john curran

John is well known for his scholarly research into all matters relating to Agatha Christie and is acknowledged as one of the leading authorities on her writings.  He is the author of several books on Christie including  Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks and Murder in The Making.

Rob Davies


Rob Davies is managing editor in the publishing team at the British Library. He began his career specialising in non-fiction – mostly editing art and design books for a range of publishers – but is now series editor for British Library Crime Classics.


Martin Edwards

Martin Edwards’ Lake District Mysteries include The Coffin Trail (short-listed for the Theakston’s prize for best British crime novel), and The Frozen Shroud. The latest of his eight Harry Devlin novels is Waterloo Sunset, while Dancing for the Hangman, offers a fresh take on the Crippen case. He has edited 22 anthologies, and published eight non-fiction books, most recently The Golden Age of Murder in 2015. He has won the CWA Short Story Dagger and the CWA Margery Allingham Prize for short fiction..


Dolores Gordon-Smith

author pictures 016

Dolores Gordon-Smith is the author of the Jack Haldean series set in 1920’s England, the latest of which is After The Exhibition, a Great War spy thriller, Frankie’s Letter, and a column in Writing Magazine. She has been a teacher, a civil servant and a shaker-out of Christmas puddings in a jam factory.

A huge fan of Agatha Christie and the “Golden Age” of detection, Dolores is married with five daughters, various dogs and cats, and lives in Greater Manchester.


Jake Kerridge


Jake Kerridge has been the crime fiction critic of the Daily Telegraph since 2005. He is an enthusiastic promoter of the best crime fiction of the past as well as the present, both in print and at literary events. He is currently writing the entry on Ruth Rendell for the Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Tony Medawar


Tony Medawar is best known for his discoveries of long-forgotten stories and plays by the giants of the Golden Age, on which he has written extensively for the British genre magazine, CADS (Crime and Detective Stories). Tony has edited six collections of such material, including 13 to the Gallows, a collection of mystery plays by John Dickson Carr. He is currently working on an expanded volume of short stories by Anthony Berkeley and a new collection of previously unpublished crime fiction by Christianna Brand. His ambition is to die in a locked and windowless room, surrounded by unbroken snow and without any weapons in sight. If nothing else, it should make for an interesting case for the insurance investigator.

B.A. Pike

Barry Pike

B. A. Pike is Chairman of The Margery Allingham Society and editor of its journal, The Bottle Street Gazette. He is author of the Edgar-nominated Campion’s Career: A Study of the Novels of Margery Allingham (1987) and co-author of Detective Fiction: The Collector’s Guide (1988; rev. ed. 1994) and Artists in Crime: An Illustrated Survey of Crime Fiction First Edition Dustwrappers, 1920-1970 (1995). He has published many pieces about classic mystery fiction.

Richard Reynolds

Richard R

Richard Reynolds has been a bookseller for over thirty-five years, all bar two at Heffers in Cambridge. He is the organiser of regular events for readers of crime fiction, including the annual Bodies in the Bookshop, Christmas Crime and What’s Your Poison? He’s chair of the Crime Writers’ Association’s Goldsboro Gold Dagger panel for best crime novel of the year, the editor of the Oleander Press London Bound series of classic crime novels, a member of The Dorothy L Sayers Society and an honorary member of the Crime Writers’ Association. He is especially interested in the Golden Age of Detective Fiction and seeing books from that era returned to print. December 2014 saw the publication of The Bodies in the Bookshop Anthology (edited by L C Tyler & Ayo Onatade).

L.C. Tyler


L.C. Tyler’s comic crime series featuring author-and-agent duo Ethelred Tressider and Elsie Thirkettle has been twice nominated for Edgar Allan Poe awards in the US and won the Goldsboro Last Laugh Award with Herring in the Library. His new historical crime series features seventeenth century lawyer, John Grey. He has lived all over the world, including Hong Kong, Malaysia, Sudan and Denmark but has more recently been based in London and Sussex. He is Vice Chair of the Crime Writers Association.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s